Stewardship Crew earns 2017 Gary Colley Legacy Award

Each year, staff at North Olympic Land Trust take time to reflect on those individuals or groups/organizations that have been instrumental to the Land Trust’s 27-year evolution. As a community supported nonprofit, the Land Trust is only in existence and able to help local citizens conserve and responsibly steward the diverse landscapes of the beautiful Olympic Peninsula because of the ongoing and dedicated support from its surrounding communities.

To honor and show thanks to these special individuals, the Land Trust team presents the annual Gary Colley Legacy Award. Named after North Olympic Land Trust’s founder, this award is given to individuals that are a true part of the organization’s foundation.

This year, it’s with great excitement that the Land Trust’s all volunteer Stewardship Crew is being honored with the Gary Colley Legacy Award. The Stewardship Crew is a critical component of the organization, and without their dedication the Land Trust wouldn’t be able to responsibly and sustainably manage its conserved lands, which is at the heart of the organization’s mission. Although it varies, the core and consistent members of the Stewardship Crew include Curt Batey, Elden Housinger, Steve Langley, Bill and Lavonne Mueller, Cheryl Ford, Cal Thomas, John Wegmann, Bill Spring, and Randy Washburne. Every week (rain or shine) the Stewardship Crew comes together to help maintain conserved properties across the North Olympic Peninsula. Whether building bridges, installing educational signage or clearing trails, the Stewardship Crew is always ready and willing to get the job done year after year. Thus, it’s with deep respect and appreciation that we congratulate each and every member of the skilled and invaluable Stewardship Crew!
You’re invited to join us in honoring this amazing group of people at North Olympic Land Trust’s 27th Annual Meeting from 10-11:30 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 18 at the Elwha Klallam Heritage Center in Port Angeles. To learn more about this event, click here. We look forward to seeing you there!